Rose Levy Beranbaum

Rose Levy Beranbaum has whisked up success with her award-winning cookbooks and culinary career. It was an honor to host her as a guest on Cookin’ with Carol. We made and stretched strudel dough together, a moment I will always treasure. I couldn’t wait to see which whisks she would share in her photo. I was also hoping she would pose in front of her iconic racks that hold her equipment. My wish came true and more! She shared a fantastic recipe for Cornstarch Stabilized Whipped Cream and heart warming answers to my questions below. Visit her website today, and I know you will be inspired to whisk up an amazing recipe right away! Her books are the perfect keepsake for yourself and for giving as gifts.

http://www.realbakingwithrose.com/

photo credit: Woody Wolston

rose whisk.png

 

Julia Child and the writings of MFK Fisher were my early inspirations.

51 years ago, when I first was married, a dear friend of the family gave me a whisk. I had never seen one before and I hardly knew what to do with it so I stored it in the garage until a visiting friend walked off with it thinking I didn’t want it. I watched that whisk disappear from my life and knew that I would always regret it.

I now have over 30 whisks of different sizes and shapes but the three I use the most often are the ones pictured. The smallest one I use the most often. I got it in Tokyo. The middle one is the next most often used and the huge one is the one I use to fold mixtures together without deflating them.

I use whisks to stir, to fold, and to aerate. I even have a copper one that I thought would stabilize egg whites without cream of tartar but it didn’t really work. I also have a little gold one I used to wear around my neck which got me through many a customs official, distracting them from the probably forbidden ingredient I was bringing into the country.

The whisk is the symbol of cooking but even more so of baking.

 

Cornstarch Stabilized Whipped Cream

Recipe Courtesy of Rose Levy Beranbaum posted with permission

Cornstarch is a terrific stabilizer for whipped cream. It will not hold up well at room temperature but it will keep for 2 days refrigerated. Refrigerate the mixing bowl or mixer bowl and the mixer’s beaters along with the cream. (If you are whipping 1-1/2 cups/355 ml or less of cream, a hand held mixer works better than a stand mixer.)

Makes: 2 cups

heavy cream     232 grams [1 cup (8 liquid ounces/237 ml), divided]

pure vanilla extract     1 teaspoon (2.5 ml)

powdered sugar     14 grams (2 tablespoons)

cornstarch     1 teaspoon

 

Make the Whipped Cream

1) Into a small bowl pour 174 grams/3/4 cup/177 ml of the cream and the vanilla and refrigerate it covered, for at least 15 minutes.

2) In a small saucepan, place the powdered sugar and cornstarch. Gradually whisk in the remaining cream.

3) Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring constantly with the whisk just until thickened.

4) Immediately scrape the mixture into a small bowl and allow it to cool just to room temperature. Stir in the vanilla and cover until ready to whip the cream.

5) Whip the refrigerated cream just until traces of the beater marks begin to appear.

6) Continuing by hand with a whisk, add the cooled cream mixture in 4 or 5 additions, whisking lightly after each one. Whip just until stiff peaks form when the whisk is lifted.

Leave a Reply

